13 Page-Turning Series That Middle Grade Readers Love

If you want your child to read more, a tried and true strategy is to get them hooked on a great series. This can lead to endless hours of marathon-reading and page-turning joy. The only downside of this strategy is the inevitable begging and pleading for a trip to the library or bookstore that happens when they finish a book and must get the next installment RIGHT THIS MINUTE!

Here are 13 series ranging from fantasy to realistic to mystery that are highly engrossing according to young readers on Bookopolis.com, a social network and book discovery tool made especially for 7- to 13-year-old readers.

Please note: Retail buttons will direct you to the first book in a series. Click on the title of the series to see more books.

no no 9780670016617 The Last Kids on Earth Series by Max Brallier, illustrated by Douglas Holgate

Jack and his ragtag bunch of friends are the only kids left on earth and they must find new ways to fight the zombies who have overtaken life as they knew it. Told through a mix of text and wonderful black-and-white illustrations, this series is great for reluctant readers or anyone who loves stories that both scare you and make you laugh. Jacob gives it his highest seal of approval: “I loved this action-packed book so much! I got my friends to read it and they loved it. I hope you read it too!”

There are nine books in the series, including the most recent release, The Last Kids on Earth and the Monster Dimension.

9780142406632 The Ranger’s Apprentice Series by John Flanagan

Following the classic hero’s journey arc that young readers love, 15-year-old Will goes from an ordinary teen to an apprentice to the Rangers, a brave and magical group who protects the kingdom. Will and the Rangers must defend the people from the wrath of the exiled Lord Morgarath. This is an epic adventure series for fans of stories with fast-paced action and well-crafted characters. Beck, 11, shares, “This is one of my favorite series of all time. It’s perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings.”

There are 11 books in The Ranger’s Apprentice series. Fans should also check out the spinoff series, The Royal Ranger.

9780593325421 The Forgotten Five Series by Lisa McMann

Five kids with supernatural powers have grown up isolated in a remote tropical hideout with no technology or modern conveniences. Their parents, all former criminals with superpowers, have mysteriously disappeared or died and the kids follow a series of clues back to the city where their parents had lived to find any remaining adults that could help them. Danger, mystery, and intrigue abound in this fantastical adventure that is part X-Men, part City Spies. Beck, 13, says, “I recommend this fast-paced book to fans of The Unwanteds or Harry Potter or other books where kids use magical powers for good (and sometimes evil.) Five stars!!”

There are four books in this series including the newly released Dangerous Allies.

9780142427019 Hamster Princess Series by Ursula Vernon

If you like fresh takes on famous fairy tales, this highly illustrated novel is a must read. Harriet Hamsterbone is a tough but incredibly charming hamster that experiences a rodent-filled version of well-known stories like Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, and Jack and the Beanstalk. The writing is laugh-out-loud funny, the characters are clever and lovable, and the girl power that Harriet displays effortlessly is inspiring. Christine, 11, gives two thumbs up for this book: “It was amazing and I love how Harriet Hamsterbone is a princess that doesn’t act like one.”

There are six books in the series including the most recent one, Little Red Rodent Hood.

9781101931110 Max & The Midknights Series by Lincoln Peirce

Who knew the Middle Ages could be so funny? This laugh-out-loud series by the beloved creator of Big Nate follows Max, a knight-in-training, and her loyal friends on various quests to save the day. The mix of text and illustrations makes this a great choice for reluctant and voracious readers. Evan, age 10, highly recommends it, “I enjoyed the book because it was action-packed and hilarious. I like Max because she is very adventurous and cares a lot about others.”

There are currently three books in the series.

9780142406113 Alex Rider Series by Anthony Horowitz

Alex finds himself living the action-packed life of a teenage spy after learning that is recently deceased uncle worked for MI6, Britain’s intelligence agency, and he must finish his uncle’s mission. Joseph, 10, loves this series that is full of “intense action and crazy situations” and proclaims, “if you like secrets and agents and a bunch of unique gadgets, this is your type of book!” (Please note that this series does have violence and relationship drama that will not be appropriate for sensitive or younger middle grade readers.)

There are currently 14 books in the series including the latest installment, Nightshade Revenge. There are also graphic novel versions of the first few books in the series.

9781984837141 Pages & Co. Series by Anna James, illustrated by Paola Escobar

This is a great pick for kids who love books about books like The Land of Stories or Saving Fable. Tilly has grown up in her grandparents’ bookstore. She’s been living with them since her mom disappeared (and her dad is not on the scene.) When she discovers that she can wander into books and interact with her favorite characters, her life becomes its own story full of plot twists, family secrets, and magic. After reading the first book in the series, Chris shares, “[This is] a great story. It was full of adventures, and I cannot wait to start reading the second book tomorrow.”

There are six books in the series including the newest one, The Last Bookwanderer.

9780593897201 Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Series by Chris Grabenstein

This is one of my all-time favorite series to recommend to readers who love puzzle-filled mysteries with lovable characters. Mr. Lemoncello is like the Willy Wonka of games and each book in this series centers Kyle Keely and his friends as they work to play one of his complex games. Each story is filled with humorous hijinks and heartwarming lessons about friendship and family as well as super creative and fun puzzles that readers can solve alongside the characters. As Sonia, 10, shares “This book rocks! I must’ve read it like 5 times, but it never gets old.”

There are six books in the series plus a new graphic novel version of the first book.

9780440420477 The Penderwicks Series by Jeanne Birdsall

The Penderwick siblings are always ready for an adventure as well as a bit of mischief. This charming and witty series is full of family love, silly pranks, and lots of laughter. James, 12, posits, “This was a fun end-of-summer book. I like how the trouble in the story is [caused by] adults not listening better to kids instead of kids not listening to adults like in a lot of other books.”

There are five books in the series including the finale, The Penderwicks at Last.

9780142417225 Theodore Boone Series by John Grisham

Readers who already think and argue like a good lawyer will adore this series starring Theo, a 13-year-old whose favorite place to be is in the courtroom. He uses his creativity and critical thinking skills to solve major crimes and find justice through the legal system. Charismatic characters and suspenseful plots make you want to dive into the next case as soon as the last one is resolved. Skye enthuses, “This book is amazing for to-be lawyers, mystery lovers, or anyone who loves a good thrill.”

There are seven books in the series including the latest installment, The Accomplice.

9781368016346 The Storm Runner Series by J.C. Cervantes

Percy Jackson fans will love this series inspired by Mayan mythology. Zane is living a relatively normal life in New Mexico with his mom, uncle, and beloved dog, Rosie, when he learns he is the son of one of the Mayan creator gods. Wild escapades and new friendships are at the core of this fantasy adventure as Zane fulfills his role in a Mayan prophecy that might or might not end the world as we know it. 6th grader Cade calls this book “amazing and fun” and the perfect blend of “exciting and sad.”

There are three books in the series including the latest installment, Shadow Crosser.

9780375822742 The City of Ember Series by Jeanne DuPrau

Everyone in Ember must fulfill their assigned job to keep the lights on in this city that was designed to protect the human race. When two kids, Lina and Doon, discover an ancient scroll that shows a different way to save the people of Ember, the adults won’t listen. High levels of suspense and epic world-building make this a favorite for readers who love dystopian fiction. Max, 10, says, “I recommend this book to 4th, 5th, and 6th graders who love to really put yourself in the characters’ shoes.”

There are four books in the series as well as a graphic novel version of the first book available now.

9780679892649 Sammy Keyes Series by Wendelin Van Draanen

This modern take on a Nancy Drew-style mystery stars Sammy, a lovable teen detective who oozes wit, charm, and aplomb. Each book in this series centers around an exciting and dramatic whodunit mystery that is infused with humor and high adventure. But readers really get invested in the sub-plots that show how Sammy navigates her wild family, love interests, and relatable friendship dramas as she solves crimes. As Lucia, age 10, raves, “If you like mystery and adventure then this is the book for you! I know you won’t regret reading this book!”

There are 18 books in this series considered to be a modern-day classic.

The post 13 Page-Turning Series That Middle Grade Readers Love appeared first on Brightly.

Related Post